The Basilica

The monumental Basilica, built between 1822 and 1869 is the largest church of the country. In the sacrarium one can admire Grigoletti’s altarpiece, titled ‘Maria’s ascension’, which is the largest painting on a single canvas (13*6,5 m) of the whole world.

The only medieval building of the cathedral that prevailed, one of the most magnificent buildings of the Reneissance era, the Bakócz chapel was built in the southern side of the Basilica.

The shrines of high priests and burial places of archbishops can be found in the crypt below the church. This is also where Primate József Mindszenty’s relics were laid on 4 May 1991. Since then, the undercroft (crypts) has become a popular pilgrim destination.


2500 Esztergom, Szent István tér 1.

Tel.: +36 33 402354




Cathedral Treasury


In the upstairs rooms of the Basilica, visitors can admire the masterpieces of the world-famous Cathedral Treasury. Hungary’s richest religious treasury, goldsmith and textile collection is significant on a worldwide scale. The most important pieces of the filigrees are the coronation cross from the Arpad era, (This is what Hungarian kings swore on at the coronation ceremony.) and the Mathias calvary, that is made of gold and decorated with pearls, jewels.


2500 Esztergom, Szent István tér 1.

Tel.: +36 33 402354




Castle Museum

Upon the castle museum visitors can admire the remains of the palaces of kings from the Árpad era, and the later archbishops. The castle museum is in these buildings. Of the masterpieces of the Hungarian Roman architecture, mention must be made of the famous Saint Stephen room, the motte and the late-Roman, early-Gothic regal chapel. There are several exhibitions in the rooms that display Esztergom’s past.


2500 Esztergom, Szent Isván tér 1.




Balassa Bálint Museum


This museum, in the old Castle County House exhibitions of significant archeological, historical and art are on display. - The history of the Sacra Corona, local history exhibition, Balassa Bálint Museum Exhibitions Building,  (13 Pázmány Péter street.) Esztergom in the Middle Ages – an exhibition of the Millenium.


2500 Esztergom, Mindszenty tér 5.

Tel.: +36 33 500175




Christian Museum


The second floor of the primate palace houses the worldwide known Christian Museum, founded by Archbishop János Simor in 1875. It exhibits collections of medieval Hungarian tablature and sculpture, Italian painting in the 13th – 16th centuries, Batavian, German, Austrian painting in the15th – 16th centuries, baroque painting and handicraft. Its tapestry from the 15th- 17th centuries are also well known. The most famous pieces include: Tamas Kolozsvári’s altar of Galambszentbenedek (1427), the ‘Úrkoporsó’ of Galambszentbenedek (around 1480), the four tablatures by M.S. master (1506)


2500 Esztergom, Midszenty tér 2.

Tel.: +36 33 413880




Danube Museum


Within the centuries-old walls, at its righteous place is located the Danube Museum, officially called: Magyar Környezetvédelmi és Vízügyi Múzeum (Museum of Hungarian Hydrology and Environmental Protection).It is a specialized museum with exhibits from the whole country.
The prebendal house, built in the second half of the 18th century is located in the centre of Esztergom. Its chambers housed the Hungarian crown on 20 February 1790 on its way from Vienna to Buda. The building also functioned as the centre of aid service during the flooding of 1838 that left the entire Dunakanyar area and Pest in ruins.
The museum collects, arranges and displays histories, written documents and objects about country’s natural waters. The main thematic units of the exhibitions include: Physical and chemical properties of water, Water regulations, floodings, flood control, The history of Hungarian cartography, The history of water-supply and canals, Universal and Hungarian Technical and Water Conservation Chronology, Playroom for children : Physical properties of water (flood gates, wells, water pumps, water-wheels, stertung waves and currents)


2500 Esztergom, Kölcsey Ferenc utca 2.

Tel.: +36 33 500250




Babits House


Above the town stands the Babits villa. Our great poet, Mihály Babits used to spend his summers in this small house from 1924 to his death in 1941. The memorial museum and its famous autogram-wall attract thousands of visitors.


2500 Esztergom, Babits Mihály utca 11.
tel: +36 33 500175




King Saint Stephen’s Equestrian Statue (by sculptor Ferenc Medgyessy)

Located north of the porch of the Basilica. This is where Géza’s palace – Stephen’s birthplace - used to be.




Archbishop Vitéz János’s Statue (1465-1472) (by Zoltán Szentirmai)


Located near the Várhegy (Castle Hill) opposite the Teacher Trainer College named after him. Vitéz János was King Mathias’ educator and chancellor as well as the founder of the first Hungarian university.




Balassa Bálint’s statue (by András Dózsa Farkas)


Located at the foot of the hill. This is the place where our great Renaissance poet died in a battle against the Turkish.




Liszt Ferenc’s statue (by István Marosits)


Located in Pázmány Péter street. Liszt Ferenc wrote the ‘Esztergomi Mise’ in 1856 for the consecration ceremony of the Basilica. At the actual ceremony he himself conducted the orchestra.




Primate Palace (Mindszenty square.)


Originally a Jesuit friary, later it was rebuilt by Archbishop János Simor, according to the plans of József Lippert. (1880-1882).




 Sobieski memorial (by Jeno Körmendy Frim and János Nagy)


The memorial of János Sobiensky, the Polish king who led the armies that drove Turks out of the castle of Esztergom in 1683, is located behind the Primate Palace, by the Danube bend.




Town Hall (Széchenyi square)


The Town Hall building determines the athmosphere of the main square. Originally, General ‘Vak Bottyán’s curia stood there. He was a famous figure of the Rákóczi war of independence. It was rebuilt in 1772-1773. Its façade displays Esztergom’s coat of arms, made of red marble.





Pócsik György 2016.